Serendipitous Occasion

IMG_20160122_084759[1]

It has been really cold so study German is not that bad after all :), it keeps you at warm home

Why did I learn German from 2006-2011?

I thought I should write this post because I’ve been asked different times why I could speak German before moving to Germany. However, I never found the time or inspiration until I told the story to a friend and said that was a “serendipitous occasion”. And it sounded so good as a title I couldn’t miss the opportunity to use it. So here it is:

When I started my PhD I was in a long distance relationship (when I say long, I mean looonngg: 2 different continents) so there was not a lot of reason and/or motivation for me to stop working in the lab and go home. After several months, I decided that was not good for my health: PhD was a part of my life, not my life (work for life, not life for work!). I needed some fixed-point activities to force me to leave the lab. So I went to the official language school in Cadiz and apply for a course. Because I was really late on my inscription, only the German course had free spaces so I said “Why not?”

It turned out to be a nice experience with really nice people but every time I needed to inscribe for the next course I was unsure, I had a lot of work and questions like “why I am doing that to myself? It is useless, I speak English, what else do I need?”… But my mum always said: “Keep going, it’s good for your brain” I should say my mum loved language and if she had had the opportunity to study herself or to choose my studies she would have choose “Translator”.

So I did indeed keep going until 2011, when I did not pass B2 test (because it required more time than I had while finishing my thesis and doing a master and studying Galician and an endless list of “ands”). I then moved to Southampton and stopped going to language schools.

Although I had forgotten a lot when we arrived to Wilhelmshaven in 2014 (that was more than 3 years without saying a work of German and immersed in another foreign language), it helped us to survive.

Now I am going twice a week in the afternoon and this Friday I will take B1 test again.

So the lesson is: keep going no matter what or why, some day you might say “it was worth it”

SERENDIPITY

4 thoughts on “Serendipitous Occasion

  1. Daniel

    Serendipia o no fue un gran acierto. Keep goin!
    Nos ha ayudado a sobrevivir en Baja Saxonia y seguiremos aprendiendo Alemán hasta el día que dejemos esta tierra.
    Besis!

    Reply
  2. Carmen B. de los Santos

    Great blog entry, Mariana! I am still waiting for my change to put into practice my Italian lessons 🙂 (I took that course at the EOI for the same reason as you… the only one with vacancies!).

    Reply
  3. morganp63

    Hi Mariana, good to read your blog. My blog has dipped a bit, But as for keeping it going? I shall see. Best and all good wishes to you both, Pat

    Reply

Leave a Reply

