EIVISSA = IBIZA

Four days before heading Home for Christmas I think it is good opportunity to tell you where I come from. I always like to observe people’s faces when I answer their question, ‘where do you come from?’ Most of them are surprised. After saying, “I come from Ibiza”. I am normally asked – “Do real people live there?’ “Do you have schools there?” I always laugh and answer, ‘yes, normal people live there who don’t spend their lives dancing and doing drugs. Yes, we have schools and even University!!’ I give my “elevator speech” about my island. The local tourism board should give me some recognition for saying, “Ibiza is more than discos, sex and drugs. It’s UNESCO site for cultural and biodiversity, it has an important necropolis… ”

Another funny moment: it is really easy to travel from any little airport from the UK to Ibiza during summer. Even if you go home for a funeral then, you are surrounding but crazy young people trying to get as drunk as they can before landing and the cabin assistance shouting on the microphone saying that “if they can’t do the safety induction audible they can’t take off”. And you sit there, trying to follow your normal flying custom (mine is reading for 5 minutes and sleeping the rest :)). Different people sitting in the same row tried to talk to me after the wondering, “what this girl is doing reading and going to Ibiza” . . . “I’m going back home”. First they ask for a free place to stay over and then, ashamed they asked “But have you ever done “Ibiza” live? I mean, party and discos” hahahaha…

I love travelling around the world, but my friends, nothing is comparable to the peace I find at my dad´s place; and nothing is tastier that his fantastic fish soup; and nothing is more beautiful that seeing the cathedral and the wall from the jetty. I know I’m not really objective (not scientifically correct) in this aspect but… I count now the hours to go 🙂

5 thoughts on “EIVISSA = IBIZA

  1. Luisa

    Hola Mariana! me gustò mucho ese post! Te entiendo..yo también tengo mucha nostalgia de casa..en unos dias estaré allì!! Muchos besos y Feliz Navidad, Luisa

    Reply
      1. Ángel Iniesta

        Mariana, disfruta tot el que puguis de s’illa, sense dubte ara es una bona epoca per anar. Jo potser no anire fins a mitjans o finals d’aquest any que ve… Bon nadal i bon any nou from Canada! 😉

Leave a Reply

